Soitenly
Moronika
The community forum of ThreeStooges.net

The Movies (1925) - Lloyd Hamilton Dir: Roscoe “Fatty” Arbuckle

Offline metaldams

This is my first time ever reviewing a film from Lloyd Hamilton.  I decided to do a silent first, in maybe a month or so I plan on reviewing one of the talkies Geno Cuddy just put up on YouTube as well.  But in case you guys are uninitiated, I wanted to start you off with a silent.

So who is Lloyd Hamilton?  Started out as half of a comedy team in the teens known as Ham and Bud, Bud being Bud Duncan.  Went solo in the late teens, first at Fox and then in 1920, moving on to Educational Pictures (You remember the Buster shorts? That Educational.), where he’d spend the majority of the rest of his career, which expanded until his death in 1935, at the ripe old age of 43.  15 days older than me as I type this.  Died after a stomach operation, sadly had severe alcohol issues.

As far as how to view the works of Lloyd Hamilton in the big picture - here’s the problem.  The vast majority of his work is lost.  I’ve seen about ten or twelve silents, don’t know how much more is out there.  Apparently there was a big fire in Fox Studios in 1937 where most of films got destroyed.  Fortunately, THE MOVIES from 1925 is not one of them.  Written and directed by William Goodrich, a pseudonym for the now banned Roscoe “Fatty” Arbuckle.